Food Preservation May 14th-May 20th

There really isn’t a good time necessarily to break something in your foot but I guess if I’m forced by circumstance to not walk the hill every day is probably as good as time as any. I had an incident with a foot stool and thought with some clarity, the fact that this doesn’t hurt right now even as I feel something crunch in my foot tells me this is not going to end well. However even with my daily commute ending at the living room couch every day doesn’t mean I’ve been off of it because I am in fact not an intelligent person. I was actually pretty ok on it until I went to run an errand for my husband and realized this was going to be a very not enjoyable experience.

I have a couple of posts percolating in the back of my brain including why micro batching in a pandemic isn’t as off the wall as it sounds (save. everything. you. can.) and my potential/developing experiment with reusable canning lids but I have to get there first.

raspberryconcentrate

Raspberry lemonade concentrate-my husband’s life blood at this point.

As an aside I find it a little…weird that Ball is still being like ‘buy our stuff’ when we both know there’s no stuff to buy, Ball, you’re not producing for obvious reasons and I’m getting emails on lid orders telling me that they’ll fill it…eventually. Maybe there’s a post there too, about how I’m ordering supplies from random Midwestern farm stores at this point.

Anyway.

Food Preservation May 14th-May 20th

half gallon whole milk-frozen

pineapple salsa-frozen

strawberry butter-about half a pint (this one was way, way off of estimated yield)

lemonade concentrates-blackberry, raspberry, blueberry-a lot. just…a lot. This may be tied with dilly beans in my husband’s heart

1 pound roma tomatoes-dried

1 pound nectarines-dried

8 oz mushrooms-dried

bbq sauce- 3/4 quart

tomato jam-about a pint

apple pie bourbon-quart jar

raspberry blood orange vodka-pint jar

dilly beans-about 2 quarts

One comment

Leave a comment