Skillet No-knead Bread

Bread is not my strong point.

I would like it to be-it’s one of those not entirely important life goals of mine, to make my bread skills stronger.

However, no-knead bread, which makes a fairly tender loaf with a crunchy crust, is so simple that it’s hard to mess up-even for me.

…Just don’t ask me to make a ‘pretty’ loaf with a dough this sticky. That may be years from now in my skill set.

 

I modified this recipe very, very slightly from Baker Betty.  I don’t like bread with no sweetener and yeast proofs better with it.

 

2 cups warm water

2 1/2 tea active dry yeast

1 1/2 tea honey

4 1/2 cup flour

1/2 tbl salt, preferably coarse grain

 

Bloom your yeast: In a large bowl, add the water and dissolve honey into it. Sprinkle yeast over the water and allow to sit until foamy and beery, about five minutes.

Add salt and flour, stirring in one cup at a time.

Stir until just combined, then allow to rise someplace warm. I preheat an oven to 220 only as long as it takes to mix the dough, then turn off the heat and place the dough in there. Let rise for an hour.

Well oil a cast iron skillet, then dust the top of the dough with flour. Shape into a dough (it’ll be sticky) and place on the skillet. Place someplace warm again and let rise for another half an hour.

Score the top of the bread.

Bake at 400 for 35-40 minutes.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends (Friday)  and  Fall into the Holidays (Tuesdays)

Linked to-

One comment

Leave a comment